Who has won the most races at Indianapolis Motor Speedway?

Who won the most Indy 500 races?

Of the 27 Brickyard 400s contested, 25 have been won by Hall of Fame owners. Rick Hendrick (2017) leads the way as his Hendrick Motorsports juggernaut has won this race 10 times – a record five with Jeff Gordon (2019), four more with Jimmie Johnson and one with Kasey Kahne.

Who are the four time Indianapolis 500 winners?

A.J. Foyt, Al Unser, Rick Mears and Helio Castroneves have won the Indianapolis 500 four times.

Who has won the Indy 500 2 times?

He’s the only driver in history to win all three of those races in the same season. The Unser family combined for a record nine wins in the Indy 500; Al Jr. won the Indy 500 twice — in 1992 and 1994. Coincidentally, Al Unser, Al Unser Jr. and Bobby Unser all won their final Indy 500s driving for Roger Penske.

How many times did AJ Foyt win the Indy 500?

As a team owner, Foyt has won the national Indy car title five times: 1967, 1975, 1979, 1996 (with driver Scott Sharp) and 1998 (with driver Kenny Brack). It was also with Brack that Foyt won the 1999 Indy 500 for his fifth visit to the Brickyard’s victory circle.

INTERESTING:  Is Forza Motorsport 4 a simulator?

Has Jimmie Johnson won Brickyard 400?

Jimmie Johnson has won four times at Brickyard 400

The seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion won his first title in 2006 after qualifying in the fifth spot to start the race.

Who won Nascar Brickyard?

A.J. Allmendinger wins caution-filled NASCAR Cup race at The Brickyard [VIDEO] It took three restarts to finish it, and a surprise winner emerged in A.J. Allmendinger.

Who won the 2nd Brickyard 400?

Dale Earnhardt won the second Brickyard 400 in 1995. He took the lead for the first time on Lap 133 and kept it the rest of the way. Dale Jarrett started one of the most cherished Indianapolis Motor Speedway traditions after winning the 1996 Brickyard 400 when he knelt and kissed the yard of bricks after the race.

Who is the oldest driver to win Indy 500?

Al Unser Sr. after winning the Indy 500 for the fourth time (Getty Images). His final victory at age 47 made him the oldest winner in Indy 500 history. He dominated in his first Indy win in 1970 by starting from the pole and leading all but 10 of the 200 laps. Unser beat runner-up Mark Donohue by 32 seconds that year.

Who is the oldest living Indy 500 winner?

Following the death of 1960 Indianapolis 500 winner Jim Rathmann, Jones is now the oldest living “500” winner.

Parnelli Jones.

Rufus “Parnelli” Jones
34 races run over 12 years
Best finish 33rd – 1958 (Grand National)
First race 1956 Merced Fairgrounds Speedway
INTERESTING:  Do Formula E cars have drivers?

How many different drivers have won the Indianapolis 500?

As of the 2021 event, there have been 73 race winners in the 105 editions of the Indianapolis 500. The first winner of the Indianapolis 500 was the American racer Ray Harroun in 1911. The most recent first-time winner of the Indianapolis 500 is the French driver Simon Pagenaud at the 2019 edition.

Who is the first black F1 driver?

In 2008 he became the first Black driver to win the F1 world drivers’ championship. Hamilton began his driving career when he was eight years old.